Two Outstanding HFU Alumni Educators Receive Lindback Awards

Lindback Award Recipients Christine Jordan, M’09, Terese Gallen, M’11

Lindback Award Winners (from left to right): Christine Jordan, M'09 and Terese Gallen, M'11

Two Holy Family School of Education alumni, Terese Gallen, M’11 and Christine Jordan, M’09 have been named recipients of the 2020 Lindback Awards for Distinguished Teachers. The awards are presented annually by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation to recognize outstanding educators in the Philadelphia School District.  This year’s winners were announced during Teacher Appreciation Week (May 4-8).

Gallen and Jordan are among 60 teachers and seven principals selected by their schools and the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation to be honored.  The teachers were chosen based on their activities that improve the intellectual and character development of their students. Each will receive a $3,500 award stipend.

“We are proud of Terese and Christine for sparking a love of learning and making an indelible mark on the bright minds of their students,” said Kevin Zook, PhD, Dean of the School of Education. “It is truly gratifying to see our graduates recognized for their dedication to teaching, especially during such a challenging year.”

Gallen teaches English 4, Creating Theater, Drama and Advanced Placement Literature at Swenson Arts & Technology High School. She said, “No successful teacher does what they do alone. I am so lucky to work at school with supportive administration, faculty, and staff. I miss my kids like crazy right now and want them to know that they are the reason I do what I do.”

Jordan, who teaches third grade at Anne Frank Elementary School said, “I am fortunate to work at a school with wonderful administrators, teachers, and staff.  I get to teach the best students in the world and each day they inspire to do my best.”

Since 2007 the Lindback Foundation has awarded over 700 Distinguished Public Teacher Awards and over 60 Distinguished Principal Awards and has granted over $3.3 million in awards during that time.