Seven University Alumni Educators Honored with 2022 Lindback Awards

Holy Family University

Seven Holy Family University School of Education alumni have been named recipients of the 2022 Lindback Awards for Distinguished Teachers.

This year's alumni honorees are:

  • Marie Ames '92 - Frances E. Willard School
  • Lori Harkins M'05 - Henry A. Brown School
  • Lauren MacDonald M'14 - Henry H. Houston School
  • Jacquelyn Mengel M'10 - George W. Nebinger School
  • Christopher Nevrincean '14, M'19 - Watson Comly Elementary School
  • Brian Rost M'14 - Philadelphia Juvenile Justice Services Center
  • Timothy Tracy M'19 - Philadelphia High School for Girls

The awards are presented annually by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation to recognize outstanding educators in Philadelphia public schools. This year's list of Holy Family University alumni honorees represents the most-ever alumni honored by the Lindback Foundation in a single year.

The award and foundation are named after the late Christian R. Lindback, the president and principal owner of Abbotts Dairies, Inc., and his wife Mary.

"We are tremendously proud that seven Holy Family University alumni have been honored with the 2022 Lindback Awards for Distinguished Teachers," said Dr. Anne Prisco, President of Holy Family University. "The graduates of Holy Family’s School of Education demonstrate daily the passion and aptitude for teaching that characterize the very best of educators in Philadelphia."

The seven University alumni are among 60 teachers nominated to be honored by their school communities and selected by a central committee of School District administrators and a Philadelphia Federation of Teachers representative. The teachers were chosen based on their activities that improve the intellectual and character development of their students. Each honoree will receive a $3,500 award stipend.

"Receiving the Lindback Award for 2022 is a great honor for me," said Mengel, who teaches students with autism spectrum disorders in grades 6-8. "My students are amazing as I help them reach their goals and become active in the school community. Their fellow students in the regular educational setting are very supportive and accepting of my students. I am fortunate to have the privilege of teaching these amazing students and receiving the Lindback Award for 2022 for Nebinger Elementary School."

"Being honored with the Lindback Award shows my commitment to my students for both their education and character through mentoring and by helping students experience growth," said Rost, who teaches mathematics and other subjects to middle and high school students at Philadelphia Juvenile Justice Services Center. "I am one of many stalwart teachers who undertake challenges daily, and I am grateful for everyone's consideration."

"Teaching and coaching in the Philadelphia Public Schools for the past 14 years has been a rewarding and meaningful career," said Tracy, who teaches literature at Philadelphia High School for Girls. "I was honored to be nominated for the Linback Award. I work with incredibly talented and dedicated young women at the Philadelphia High School for Girls, and the award would not have been possible without their support."

Nevrincean, who teaches first grade at Watson Comly Elementary School and is also an instructor and field placement assistant at Holy Family University in the School of Education, credits the strong support from his colleagues for the award. "I am honored to be among the educators awarded the Lindback Award," Nevrincean remarked. "One of my mentors received the award a few years ago, so it is surreal that I am now a recipient. I am blessed to work with such amazing individuals at my school. The staff, students, and families at Comly are like no other. Each day I learn something from each of them that I take with me to improve my practice, so really this award is just as much theirs as it is mine. I would not be the educator I am today without them."

The Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award was first awarded to college educators in 1961. Honorees were expanded to high school educators in 2008 and K-12 educators in 2017. 

For more information on Holy Family University’s education programs, please visit the School of Education website.